I Would Have Done Things Differently – A Poem

stairway-to-heaven-at-morning-timeI said:

If I were God for one day,

I would have done things differently.

That child would not have died.

The car accident never would have happened

And my heart wouldn’t have been broken.

If I were God for a month,

Things would have changed.

Men would start fully respecting women,

Poverty would be abolished

And all people would feel loved.

If I were God for one year,

Things would be altered.

Imperialistic structures which oppress the weak would cease to exist,

Wars would completely stop,

And everyone would receive an education.

If only I were God.

And then I realized,

That if I were truly God,

People would cease to fall in love,

Because community would be destroyed

In the name of development building.

People would cease going to church,

Because they will have been forced to love,

And people would cease being saved

Because there would be no more uplifting stories of finding God even in the midst of tragedy.

If I were God,

If I were God, I would have done things differently,

But then humanity would become so focused on grandeur,

That they would forget how to see the beauty in the tinest flower.

There is an innate need inside each one of us to make sense of the world.

In doing this, often God’s plan seems senseless.

We ask God to take away our freedom,

To not bring evil by forcing us to do good,

But the very moment He takes it away,

We fight to regain control.

You see, if I were God, I would have done things differently.

But then I remember,

If I were God,

Things would truly be done differently

But because of my limited finitude the differences would mean things never truly would get done.

So, I leave it up to God to bring about justice, healing, and restoration,

And I leave it up to us to allow God to actually do things differently.

2 thoughts on “I Would Have Done Things Differently – A Poem

  1. Hi I’m doing a project in my speech class and I wanted to recite this poem but my teacher wants us to give information about the author but idk who wrote this or did you write it?

    • Hi WJ,

      All works on this site (including poetry, essays, sermons, and reflections) are my own original compositions except where otherwise noted. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. Feel free to use it 🙂

Leave a Reply

